Jaxon Evans Focused For 24-Hour Nürburgring Qualifiers

May 5, 2022 | News

With the 50th ADAC 24-hour Nürburgring race just weeks away, qualifying for the world’s most challenging motorsport event will take place at Nordschleife, Nürburgring, 6-8 May 2022.

Porsche driver Jaxon Evans will line up with his four-driver squad in the #3 Porsche GT3R Falken Tyres Motorsport entry, in a 91-car field that includes 30 cars in the top class (SP9).

Rather than one six-hour race, the Qualifiers’ format consists of one three-hour race on Saturday and one three-hour race on Sunday. Evans will contest Qualifying 1 and Race 1 alongside Sven Muller, while Patrick Pilet and Marco Seefried will take over driving duties for Qualifying 2 and Race 2.

After the team withdrew from NLS3 due to safety concerns over the lack of suitable tyre compounds, Evans says his focus has quickly shifted to the biggest event of the year, which starts with qualifying this weekend.

“While I’m disappointed we had to withdraw from NLS3, it was the correct call on safety grounds, and in the end, it came down to factors out of the drivers’ and team’s control,” said Evans.

“I have complete faith the team is well-prepared, and we’re hungry to fine-tune our package before the big 24-hour race at the end of this month.

“I’m excited to finally get some seat time in the car in the qualifying race this weekend, and even though this is my first race at this track, I’ll lean on the experience of my co-drivers and team for advice and direction with the car.

“The weather could be a talking point this weekend, which it often is at Nürburgring, but we have all the tyre compounds we need to perform in any type of weather conditions.”

24-hour Nürburgring Qualifiers will be held Friday 6 May 2022 – Sunday 8 May 2022.

Catch all the action live on: https://www.youtube.com/c/Nürburgring_official/featured

Live onboard: https://www.youtube.com/user/FalkenTyreEurope/featured

The opening race will start at 6:30pm (CEST) on Saturday, with the second race scheduled for 2pm (CEST).